Change language
Contact us: +49 9321 2680 -200

PADCON PID KILLER

Unique alternative

The PADCON Float Controller offers a unique alternative. It allows the operation of an ungrounded system and simultaneously fights the PID-effect.

Technically, this is realised by actively raising the positive potential. Based on the fact that the modules can no longer see a negative voltage, PID-impaired modules regenerate and are protected in the future.

Until now there was only one solution existing on the market to reduce the PID effect in non-earthed systems. This is based on a single-sided earthing of the system, which entails significant disadvantages. The construction costs of a non-earthed system are substantially cheaper and the

system safety is simultaneously higher. Furthermore, this operating mode also has the advantage of detecting creeping earth faults in good time and the PV system remains functionally capable with a single-side earth fault.

Thanks to this single-fault tolerance, the PV system creates a higher yield than an earthed system, whereby the earth short-circuit results in an immediate yield loss.

The PADCON Float Controller can be installed both in new systems and also in existing systems. The product range offers an appropriate solution for all types of inverters.

Modulde degradation by PID – Solution (s) ?

 

Grounding

„PID-Boxes“

PADCON Float Controller

Instant PID protection

Recovery-effekt

partially

Easy to retrofit

partially

Inverter independent

partially

One-error tolerance  

String inverters

 

Central inverters

partially

 

Your benefits at a glance

  • Quick regeneration of PID affected modules

  • Solutions for string & central inverters

  • Increasing module lifetime

  • Instant protection against PID

  • Yield increase

  • Easy to retrofit

Operation Mode

Operation Mode NIGHT (Float Controller CI 30 & SI)
PID Operation Mode NIGHT (Float Controller CI 30 & SI)

As soon as the generator voltage drops below a defined threshold value in the evening, the Float Controller raises the PV field to a high, positive potential thus reversing the polarisation effect that arises during operation. When the generator voltage rises again over a defined threshold value in the morning, the Float Controller automatically switches to standby mode. Both the threshold values and the maximum output voltage can be individually adapted to suit the system in question.

Operation Mode DAY (Float Controller CI 30)
PID Operation Mode DAY (Float Controller CI 30)

For systems with thin-layer modules, the Float Controller CI 30 also offers the facility of daytime operation. Because TCO corrosion is a non-reversible effect, this must be prevented during the operation of the system. By raising the positive potential to <1000V, the modules have no negative potential relative to earth during operation and are therefore in a permanently safe condition.

Change language
Kontaktieren Sie uns: +49 9321 2680 -200

PADCON PID KILLER

Einzigartige Alternative

Der PADCON Float Controller bietet eine einzigartige Alternative. Er erlaubt den Betrieb eines nicht geerdeten Systems und bekämpft gleichzeitig den PID-Effekt.

Technisch ist dies mit dem aktiven Anheben des Pluspotentials realisiert. Basierend auf der Tatsache, dass die Module keine negative Spannung mehr sehen, regenerieren sich von PID betroffene Module und sind zukünftig geschützt.

Bisher existierte auf dem Markt nur eine Lösung, um den PID-Effekt in nicht geerdeten Systemen zu reduzieren. Diese basiert auf einer einseitigen Erdung der Anlage, was zu erheblichen Nachteile führt. Die Baukosten eines nicht geerdeten System sind deutlich günstiger und die Anlagensicherheit ist gleichzeitig höher. Darüber hinaus bietet dieser Betriebsmodus den Vorteil, schleichende Erdungsfehler frühzeitig zu erkennen und die PV-Anlage ist auch bei einem einseitigen Erdungsfehlern noch funktionsfähig. 

Dank dieser Ein-Fehlertoleranz erzeugt die PV-Anlage einen höheren Ertrag als eine geerdete Anlage, bei der ein Erdschluss direkt zu Ertragsausfällen führt.

Der PADCON Float Controller kann sowohl in neuen Anlagen als auch in Bestandsanlagen installiert werden. Die Produktfamilie bietet für alle Wechselrichtertypen die passende Lösung.

Moduldegradation durch PID – Lösung(en) ?

 

Erdung

„PID-Boxen“

PADCON Float Controller

Sofortiger PID-Schutz

Recovery-Effekt

teilweise

Einfach nachrüstbar

teilweise

Wechselrichter-unabhängig

teilweise

1-Fehler-Toleranz

 

String-Wechselrichter

 

Zentral-Wechselrichter

teilweise

 

Ihre Vorteile auf einen Blick

  • Schnelle Regeneration von PID betroffenen Modulen

  • Lösungen für String- und Zentralwechselrichter

  • Erhöhung der Modullebensdauer

  • Sofortiger Schutz vor PID

  • Ertragssteigerung

  • Einfach nachrüstbar

Funktionsweisen

Funktionsweise NACHT (Float Controller CI 30 & SI)
Funktionsweise NACHT (Float Controller CI 30 & SI)

Sobald die Generatorspannung am Abend unter einen definierten Schwellwert fällt, hebt der Float Controller das PV-Feld auf ein hohes, positives Potential und macht damit den während des Betriebes entstandenen Polarisationseffekt wieder rückgängig. Steigt die Generatorspannung am Morgen wieder über einen definierten Schwellwert, schaltet der Float Controller selbstständig in den Stand-by Modus. Sowohl die Schwellwerte als auch die maximale Ausgangspannung können individuell auf die Anlage angepasst werden.

Funktionsweise TAG (Float Controller CI 30)
Funktionsweise TAG (Float Controller CI 30)

Für Anlagen mit Dünnschicht-Modulen bietet der Float Controller CI 30 auch die Möglichkeit des Tagbetriebes. Da es sich bei TCO-Korrosion um einen nicht-reversiblen Effekt handelt, muss dieser bereits während des Betriebes der Anlage verhindert werden. Durch das Anheben des Plus-Potentials auf <1000V haben die Module während des Betriebes kein negatives Potential gegen Erde und befinden sich damit permanent in einem sicheren Zustand.